Embracing Our True Beauty

Beauties, I invited my friend, Katie Singh, to share about her experience of embracing her whole self and her true beauty in motherhood– she is modeling self care for her sweet girls (and for all of us too). 

13563287_10154499954456842_2136065263_n

As a Mom, it can be so hard to accept all of the changes that come with bringing our sweet babies into the world. Some women are blessed with amazing genes and don’t have a trace of pregnancy left on their bodies.

13598974_10154499951176842_1768931146_n

Unfortunately, I don’t belong to that group of lovely unicorns. My pregnancies gifted me with some stretch marks, looser skin, and a different complexion. I acquired under eye melasma when I was pregnant with my first daughter Sofia and it became more pronounced with our second little doll, Sarina. Two years later I still have it.

13578719_10154499950751842_747242770_n

In my teens, I would have felt disappointed every time I saw my reflection. Thankfully I’m not that girl anymore. Today I can see the beauty in it. Is it my favorite feature on my face? No, but it kind of feels like an old friend now. We both went through those pregnancies and it is a reminder of my sweet girls that is written on my face.

13576369_10154499956816842_921361954_n

I do use concealer, but not to completely hide it, just to soften its appearance. One of the best gifts of motherhood, if we are willing to embrace it, is finding our true beauty.

After having children I found it hard to maintain any type of beauty regime. Let’s be honest, if you can squeeze a shower in, it’s been a pretty good day. I have realized though that if I push myself to take an extra five minutes it makes me feel more pulled together.

In the ongoing quest to remove toxins from our household I slowly started changing over my beauty products. That’s when I found and fell in love with Beautycounter. I loved it so much that I joined their mission to get safe products into the hands of everyone by becoming a consultant. I love Beautycounter products because I know they are safe, they feel luxurious, and perform so beautifully. Has my melasma magically disappeared? Nope. But, the best part is that I’m content. I’m focused on having clear, brighter skin and proud that I am using beauty products that won’t interfere with my health so that I can continue to be the Mama my girls need me to be.

13595964_10154499954941842_569564357_n-4

I’m not perfect, but even with all my flaws, physical and otherwise, I am perfectly theirs.

 


13578506_10154499973211842_1521068571_n

Katie Singh is a wife and mother of two little girls. She earned her Master’s Degree in Social Work (MSW) from USC and is a Licensed Clinical Social Worker (LCSW). Katie enjoys being a full-time stay at home Mom and Beautycounter consultant. She is passionate about empowering others to make healthy choices for themselves and their families.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Thank you Mary and Katie! I am going to have to check out Beauty Counter; I do love products that are safer for my skin and overall well-being.

    Like

Leave a Reply

