How to Make: Super Simple Fermented Salsa

IMG_6532

Hello Beauties,

This summer, my friend Becky, gave me a crash course in making fermenting. I was reading Nourishing Traditions by Sally Fallon (while drinking a coke… oh my… I am full of contradictions), but I didn’t think I had a mentor to show me the way. Until, we were over at her house for tacos and there on her counter was a big jar of fermenting cabbage.

Screen Shot 2016-03-08 at 11.45.24 PM

She was making a big batch of sauerkraut in the middle of the summer. It smelled delicious and as she explained each simple step, I was amazed how easy it was to make something that was so beautiful. The purple cabbage looked electric and as it leached it’s water over the next few days, it melded and mellowed in color.

I thought I would be a pro like her when I started. No, no. Not so.

_DSC0094_2

This did not happen, I did not listen. I missed a crucial step, I did not weigh down the cabbage under the cabbage water. And I did not leave it in plain sight, so that I could tend to it if it needed. It molded. It stunk and turned black.

SO. A few months later, when I was trying fermenting again, I started with salsa.
Salsa is easy to make, hard to screw up, and everyone loves it. Plus with my tiny kitchen, I doubted I would lose sight of it.

_DSC0093_2

It was so easy.

_DSC0096_2

I used my food processor to make it much easier. A few minutes later, I had my own babushka of bubbling brew.

_DSC0095_2

Don’t forget to use the rocks.

When I was done, I sent her a picture of my salsa, guarded by my house rooster. Do you have a house rooster?

Screen Shot 2016-03-08 at 11.47.05 PM

Super Simple Fermented Salsa

5 Medium Tomatoes, cored
1 Onion, Chopped into four big pieces (papery skins and hard tops removed)
2 Bell Peppers (I use red)
2 Cloves garlic
1 TBSP Sea salt
OPTIONAL: Squeeze of Lemon
Chop all produce in a food processor or by hand. Add salt and lemon. Take a small plastic zipper bag filled with something heavy (I use rocks) and sealed to weigh down the pulp of the salsa in the juice. In 24 hours, the pulp should all be below the level of the juice. If not, mix a bit of salt into a few tablespoons of water and add to the jar. Leave on your counter, wrapped in a napkin to cover it for 48 hours. Store in the refrigerator with a lid for up to 10 days, if it lasts that long. Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

